J.F. Hicks Library


Databases

www.vic.edu

J.F. Hicks Library
Virginia Intermont College
1013 Moore Street
Bristol, Virginia 24201

phone 276-466-7960

My VIC

VIC webmail

Search the library catalog

Interlibrary Loan Request

Choosing a database name will open a new browser window. Off-campus use is available by username and password.

If you are having problems accessing databases from off-campus, please read this document.

Use the following links to learn more about the Ebscohost and Gale databases:

Ebscohost database help
Gale database tip sheets

 

Academic and General Reference

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
Academic OneFile
Academic Search Complete
Associates Programs Source
Biography Resource Center
Education Research Complete
ERIC
Expanded Academic ASAP
Fuente Academica
Gale General Reference Center Gold
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General OneFile
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
MasterFILE Premier
NetLibrary
Newspaper Source Plus
Oxford English Dictionary (not available off-campus)
Oxford Reference Collection

Art and Performing Arts

ArtStor
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Music Online

Business

Business and Company Resource Center
Business Source Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Computer Database
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Economia y Negocios
Factiva
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Regional Business News
Vente et Gestion

Government, Law, and Political Science

CIAO-Columbia International Affairs Online
Congressional Quarterly Electronic Library
Legal Collection
LexisNexis Academic
Military & Government Collection
Polling the Nations
Statesman's Yearbook World

History

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Early Encounters In North America
Evans Early American Imprints
HarpWeek (not available off-campus)
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Language and Literature

Literature Resource Center
Modern Language Association International Bibliography
Oxford English Dictionary (not available off-campus)

Religion and Philosophy

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Science, Health, Social Sciences, Psychology

Alt HealthWatch
American Chemical Society Publications
Annual Reviews
BioOne
Consumer Health Complete
Contemporary Women's Issues
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Environment Complete
Health Source Consumer Edition
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
MedicLatina
Medline
Nature
PsychINFO
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Salud en Espanol
Women's Studies International

 

Front of library building

A common misconception: "I can find everything I need on the internet. Why should I search the library's databases?"

While the internet is what allows you to access the databases, the content of private databases is not indexed in a typical internet search engine. Search engines such as Google will not yield results from these databases.

The library's databases are academic, authoritative sources. The information they contain should be considered much more reliable than what is found on a web page through an internet search engine.